Shows to watch: ABC’s “Selfie”

We live in the Digital Age. When something happens in our lives, we’re quick to share these moments on our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Tumblr, Vine, etc.

And sometimes, we’re so busy sharing, we’re not living in the moment. I’m guilty of this myself. When I saw the Backstreet Boys for the first time during their This Is Us tour, I saw most of it through my camera screen.

While plenty of articles will say we’re “tech obsessed” or “selfish” or “narcissistic,” I’d argue that maybe they’re right…but not any more so than previous generations.

And while I do love technology, I feel like the years I spent behind a computer screen made human interaction all the more difficult. So I may not be as vapid and self obsessed as Eliza (LBR I probably am), I also realize how poor my social skills are. How many times have I pretended to check my phone in order to not feel alone or awkward in situations outside of the safety of my room?

“Selfie” is a funny, endearing and highly entertaining training academy on Basic Human Interaction 101. As I watch Henry instruct Eliza through the obstacles of everyday life, I’m picking up these cues to apply to my own life.

Don’t get me wrong, this show is a comedy first. It’s not real. But for me, it’s also a mirror into my own life. When Eliza learns, so do I. This episode exceeded my expectations and I can’t wait to see more.

Catch “Selfie” Tuesday nights at 8 p.m. EST on ABC.

Leave a Reply

