Movie Recommendation: G.B.F.

GBFposter

 

On this National Coming Out Day, what better way to celebrate than with this funny, sweet and satirical film?

Synopsis: Social warfare erupts when three high school clique queens battle for supremacy: drama diva Caprice, Mormon princess ‘Shley and blonde fashionista Fawcett. When unassuming Tanner is outted, he finds himself cast as the hottest new teen-girl accessory: The Gay Best Friend. The girls immediately pounce and makeover Tanner into their ideal arm candy, forcing him to choose between popularity and true friends.

I have to admit, I was a little apprehensive when I read the concept. I assumed it would be a dumb, unfunny mess of a film. Why I gave it a chance, I do not know but I’m glad I did! From start to finish, I was highly entertained – and I felt things. I loved the added layers given to these girls – they’re not just vapid teen queens obsessed with themselves. I mean, they totally are but they also have feelings and motivations and things that make them special.

While the story focuses on the first openly gay boy at this affluent high school, there is some intersectionality when Caprice (who is black) is faced with offensive stereotyping as well. These uncomfortable issues are addressed so cleverly that you are able to enjoy the joke and learn from it as well.  A satirical comedy with heart – I loved it!

Leave a Reply

