The Fighter

When I hopped off the plane at LGA, I knew that I was in for something special. As the freezing air ate away the warmth in my finger tips  and my bones suddenly felt more fragile than ever, I felt hope for the first time in a while.

Born and raised in Florida, I always wanted something more, something different than what the Sunshine State offered. I always knew I wanted to move to the Big Apple and that’s what I did. I quit my job at the Sun Sentinel, paid off my car and hightailed it to the city to pursue my dream of becoming an entertainment reporter (and later on, editor) at a well-known company.

I’ve heard many times that New York is where you go to follow you dreams and hustle your way to the top. And while that may certainly be true, the key word here is “hustle.” In this city, everyone is working hard. No one comes here to sit back and let the chips fall where they may. What I’m learning very quickly is that hard work isn’t enough. In order to succeed in this city, I will need a thick skin, steadfast determination, insurmountable knowledge and most importantly – skills beyond what my dream job might require.

Let’s face it, in this city there is no such thing as a special snowflake. We have come to be defined by the choices we make. I have friends who choose to give up on their dreams and go for something more practical. I have other friends who choose to take a risk and fight for what they want to do. As you can see, I’m going with the latter.  I choose not to give up. I choose to be that person to go the extra mile to make things happen. I will study, learn, research, network and do what ever it takes to get my dream job and I refuse to continue to let doubt drag me to the ground.

I’m here now and you better believe I’m gonna make it.

Leave a Reply

